Little Blessings

eedeecd3a50e872d5dfc5a6d79a46d3c

 Featured Image taken from Google

Images below were taken by and belong to the owner of @1ofthosedays

Blessings..what is a blessing? According to Dictionary.com, a Blessing is defined as “the act or words of a person who blesses“, or “a favor or gift bestowed by God, thereby bringing happiness”. For me, these definitions are more than accurate. I have had many blessings in my life from health blessings, to those individuals who have entered my life, to lessons I have been taught, and the family I have been given. I have been blessed in many ways and am thankful for all that has happened throughout my lifetime thus far.

The reason I am bringing up blessings this blog post, is because many new adventures are soon occurring for me in my personal life. From traveling to Ireland, to finally graduating with a Bachelor of Arts degree in May of this year, I have much to look forward to. This got me thinking, why do we not take notice in the little things around us as much as we should? So many other events and activities occur in our day-to-day lives, that we sometimes forget to even take a breath of fresh air! It’s a sad reality that we live in; that individuals, teenagers even, are killing themselves because they feel unappreciated or unloved. There are so many people on drugs or whom have an addiction. It is a reality that not everyone is aware of because we are all confined in our own little bubbles.

IMG_20170328_121307  Yesterday, I had the opportunity to sit outside and enjoy the beautiful weather that South Florida so graciously shares with us and all these thoughts fled into my mind. I want those individuals whom are having 1 of those difficult days to just take a breath and look around you. There is so much beauty surrounding you and within yourself, even if you don’t realize it. We all have the power to better ourselves even when it seems impossible. It’s alright to ask for help, to cry, to break down even every so often; but never should anyone have to take the leap of committing acts of suicide or any other harmful act to make them feel better about themselves and their life.

We must remember to thank God for the blessings he has given us and help those who can’t seem to find any, discover them. This is a letter to all of you, whether you are going through 1 of those days now or will have 1 in the future. I am personally hoping that someone close to me reads this blog post today. I shall not name them out of respect, but I hope they know that they are loved and that they are a blessing in my life. You all are a blessing on this Earth and have a purpose. Let’s help each other to find it.

~Like a butterfly, we all grow, we all change. We are all learning to discover our true colors in life. We are finding our wings so that we will eventually be able to take off and find our way~ IMG_20170328_121203

21 thoughts on “Little Blessings

  1. flygonian says:

    I’m getting a little teary right now because your post reminded me of this,

    Today, upon a bus, I saw a girl with golden hair.
    I envied her, she seemed so gay, and wished I was as fair.
    When suddenly she rose to leave, I saw her hobbled down the aisle.
    She had one leg and wore a crutch.
    And as she passed… a smile.
    Oh God, forgive me when I whine.
    I have 2 legs, the world is mine

    I seldom count my blessings, but the poem excerpt above (and the full poem) always kickstarts that practice within me.
    jonlucbornfolio.weebly.com

    Liked by 2 people

    • V says:

      This poem is absolutely beautiful Jonluc. Thank you for sharing. It is hard sometimes in our busy lives to remember to count our blessings; part of the reason of why I decided that this post was an important one to share with my followers. I am glad that it had a positive impact on you.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Nely Pinado says:

      Wow! That poem truly is deep, and really makes us reflect. Victoria great post! I’m glad you shared this topic, as we’re often overwhelmed by our current situations or the busyness of life that we forget to count our blessings, just sit back and show gratitude for what we do have. Thank you for the reminder, and Jonluc thank you for the poem.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yasshin Lozano says:

    I would like to thank you for this post as this really hits home. I couple of my friends have either self-harmed or had thoughts of suicide. I have helped them through it and now they are a lot happier and I am still very close friends with them. I for one have done both, but I am a lot better now because I reached out to my friends and family. Thank you again for this post it truly means a lot to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • V says:

      Wow…I am in shock reading this. I created this type of Blog to do exactly what you just shared with me; touch the lives of those who need it and maybe help them see the positive in the little things of each and every day. I created this blog to reach out and share my personal stories and show that I too have good and bad days; that as college students we too are going through many new and different things in our lives that we can all relate to. I never thought though that I would personally touch someone so close to home and have them share their experience with me as you just have. You honestly have just touched my heart in a magnificent way. I am so happy and thankful that you and your friends are alright and that you got the help that you all needed. It is so important to remember that we all have a secret life and that we need to speak about our struggles. Thank you so much for sharing this with me Yasshin. Don’t be afraid to share your story with the world. You don’t know who it may be saving. You are beautiful inside and out. Don’t ever forget that or let someone tell you otherwise.

      Like

  3. Dane stone says:

    Blessings on blessing on blessings. Taking a step back to breath some air and get a calm head about things in life is a great tip. Not only for negatives, but to appreciate the good things that have occurred. Great read. See ya next week.
    -Minor League Struggle Bus

    Liked by 1 person

    • V says:

      I’m glad that you enjoyed the read. It’s so true that we do need to take a step back sometimes just to take a breath. We often forget that the meaning to life is true happiness and in order to reach that ideal happiness, must look around at the wonderful blessings we have. Thank you and continue to do what you do as well. Enjoy it all while we still can.

      Like

    • V says:

      That’s a wonderful way to escape from the realities of our busy world. I too just the other day went outside to enjoy some fresh air and sunshine and it honestly was such a calming time period for me; the world around me disappeared and I felt like I was in paradise. Nature has it’s own kind of beauty and it’s there for us to appreciate. I’m glad that you shared that this is your mental escape and how you decide to enjoy some of the blessings in your life.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Zelda Jägryd says:

    Hi Girl!!

    I can really see what you were saying with that our blog post were very similar! 🙂 I like this a lot!!!!… Counting your blessings, gratitude, and savor moments all go hand in hand!!! I loved the quote at the end! So spot on! I am glad you advice me to come over here 😀

    Like

    • V says:

      You’re welcome Zelda! I think it is important that we pass along this type of information as sometimes we all need to hear it even though we know it. We all need to be reminded sometimes of what we have around us and what helps us to keep going and to get up in the morning. This is one of the many reasons why I love your blog and you were part of the inspiration that led me to writing this post. So thank you and keep up the great work!

      Like

  5. Yuqing Shen says:

    Great post! This post makes me grateful because I have the similar situation as yours, more and more challenges are coming for the last semester and the future after the graduation. As you said we all blessed and we should be thankful to the bless we have. We cannot be discouraged with those difficulties we are facing. We have friends and family supporting us to look forward.

    Liked by 1 person

    • V says:

      I agree 100%! Graduation is approaching, teachers are beginning to pile on the work, and everything just seems to be becoming more and more stressful. This was part of the reason of why I felt it was so important to write this particular post as I know so many activities and hardships are beginning to occur at this point and time for us college students. It’s important that during this time we do remember those family and friends and what possibilities lie ahead in our future. I am glad that you enjoyed this post and got something out of it. =)

      Like

    • V says:

      Thank you so much Abby! As stated to other’s, I felt this post was very important, especially at this point and time as college students. Teachers are beginning to pile on the work load, life begins to seem heavy on our shoulders…it’s a difficult time. We have so much to balance that sometimes we forget what is directly in front of us. I felt it was important to remind people that we all are going through the same thing but to remember that there are people who love you and there are things that can help you to get through it all.
      Also, thank you so much for the compliment! I have found that I love writing and have been trying to improve upon my writing skills ever since I can remember. I have worked hard and know that there are still areas I could fix at times, but I appreciate the compliment so much. It means a lot to me. =)

      Like

  6. Marian Miller says:

    Blessings on Blessings! Everyone should think about this and be thankful for those blessings that has occurred and those that will come. As I sit outside by the pool on my complex, I think about the blessings that my parents are able to send me to college and just thankful for everything at this very moment.

    Liked by 1 person

    • V says:

      Love that you were sitting by the pool thinking about your blessings Marian. This or the beach are two of my favorite places to be when I think about my blessings as well. They both just seem so peaceful and tranquil to me, that I am able to open my eyes and realize what I have around me and how truly and remarkably blessed I am. Thank you for sharing.

      Like

  7. My Stephanie Sandkvist says:

    This is so true. I often talk about this topic. Many people question my marriage and why I am so happy all the time not to mention how in love I am with my husband. I like to look at it as showing gratitude and counting my blessings. You are so very right and we should be very grateful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • V says:

      I think its awful when people judge a relationship or marriage. If the relationship is not harmful to either of those individuals in it, nor to anyone else, who is to judge? I am a hopeless romantic at heart…I always have been. Probably why Beauty and the Beast is my favorite film. ANyway, I think it is wonderful that you and your husband are so in love! I believe that is the problem with today’s generation; they confuse lust with love. I believe love is something that you know when it is true. I’ve seen you and Victor and the way you look at each other; that is something rare today and I am so happy that you two have found true love and pure bliss. I wish you both the best and all the blessings in the world. Don’t let what others say get to you. I know this is sometimes easier said than done, but I believe they are just jealous of what you both have. People like that will do anything to tear it apart. You both just stay strong and remember your blessings and that you have each other. Pray for those who question your marriage because they are the ones that seem to need it. I am so happy for you Steph and am glad that you know who you are, what you stand for, and what makes you happy. Never change that about yourself.

      Like

  8. Delavi Brigadeiros says:

    You said everything in this post, we must have to be more grateful for all the thing that we have done and all the thing that we have. If we just take a look around , we can notice how blessing we are , we don’t have idea how good is have water and food whenever we want…some places around the world people die die because they don’t have anything to drink or eat , this is so sad…and sometimes we get angry because we “don’t have” clothes to going out…This post was very useful for me , to think about this things! Appreciate that!!

    Like

    • V says:

      You’re very welcome Delavi. I try to post blog posts that my readers will somewhat be able to relate to while still sharing my own personal perspective and growth. It is so true that we don’t always realize that we are taking for granted things like water and food. It’s crazy to think about sometimes but it is a reality. This is why I felt it was important to share this. I have heard and personally know way too many tragic stories of where students our age lost their way so much that they felt disappearing was better…I don’t want that for nay of us. We are blessed in so many ways and don’t realize it. I want to help those who don’t realize it to remember how we got to where we are in the first place. Thank you for your comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

