Pre-World’s

     Featured Image taken from The Belfast Waterfront Hall website.

Image below was taken by and belongs to the owner of @1ofthosedays

      It’s almost that time; time where everything else around me disappears and it’s just me, the lights, the stage, the costume, and my confidence. #3MoreWeeks is trending right now in the world of Irish Dancers and it’s all because of one, important upcoming competition.

The World Championships for the An Comhdhail Branch of Irish Dance is being held this April, at the Waterfront Hall in Belfast, Ireland. This is a competition that brings the best of the best from all around the world to compete against each other for the highest of honors. Just the opportunity to be invited to attend this competition, or what is known as a feiseanna, is an amazing accomplishment for some!

IMG_20170322_093550

New soft shoe ghillies (breaking them in can be painful!)

As stated in a previous blog post of mine, “What’s Your Passion”, Irish Step Dancing runs in my blood.  I have been able to find something so moving, peaceful, and enjoyable within this type of dance that is something like I have never felt before; it’s my escape from the real world. The fact that finally, after 19 years of hard work, blood, sweat, and tears (literally), and a love for the art has finally paid off…it still puts me in awe every time the subject is brought up.

The past few months have been filled with training and practicing. Days and nights, no matter what time of day it may be have been dedicated to preparing for the championship. You have to make sure that if you want to even have ANY chance of even receiving a recall at the World’s, that you are working hard for it. You can’t just expect to go into this feis without putting any practice or time into your training. It takes both physical and mental training to ensure that you are in the best shape the day you dance.

The World Championships is something that is an honor to compete at. Girls and Boys from all around the world train year round for this opportunity of a lifetime. I am blessed that I will be attending the championship this year. It is something that I have truly been looking forward to for years now. I have been preparing for this chance of a lifetime for a long time. I have been working hard and know that when I walk on that stage, I will be able to say to myself that “No matter what happens, I know I have done my best”.

I am proud of the improvement I have made and know that when I walk out on that stage, the result won’t matter unless I am confident within myself and my dancing. I hold the power to what my result will be. So far, I am happy with the outcome. This doesn’t mean I don’t have more to improve upon, because I do! The message I am trying to address to you all is about inner strength. In order to succeed in life, we must know within our hearts that no matter the outcome, that we can say to ourselves that we have done all we can and our very best. It is important to believe in yourself and be confident in who you are and what it is you want to achieve. If you don’t contain these attributes, you will never be able to succeed or be truly happy in life. So remember, whether it be in school, work, or a competition, make everyday a new start and say “Today will be one of those days that I do my very best!”. I promise, you will go much farther, be more humble, and more content with how you are living your life and how life is treating you.

12 thoughts on “Pre-World’s

  1. Dane Stone says:

    Good luck in the championships! I’m intrigued by the thought of visiting Ireland, always wanted to go. And man I didn’t know you were that good, not saying anything negative, but I don’t know too many Irish dancers, and knowing one that is competing in the worlds is pretty cool. Training for something your entire life, I know the feeling, do your best, and have fun! How long does the competition last? And is it like team vs team, or like individuals?

    Liked by 1 person

    • V says:

      Thank you so much Dane! I appreciate it. Yes, I am very excited about visiting Ireland as I have never been out of the country, so this whole trip is going to be one heck of an adventure for me. And there are many other dancers who are much more advanced than I am, but I have never quit and have gone through many struggles to get to the level I am at now. It is a wonderful feeling to know how far I have come and what I have gone through to reach this level has only made me a stronger dancer.
      The competition itself lasts for a week and each age group dances on a different day. I personally will be dancing on Friday, April 14th. We have to be there the entire week though to prepare, rest, and ensure that we have time to adjust to the time change.
      At some feis’ we have dances known as Ceili dances which means dances with more than one person, but at this particular competition we only compete our solo dances meaning we dance individually and against each other. We even compete against those in our own studio; it is based off of age group and dance level.

      Like

    • V says:

      Thank you so much Brianna. I appreciate it. Yes, it is a huge competition that has been going on for years and is a huge deal in the Irish dancing world. The World Championships is no joke!

      Like

    • V says:

      Thanks girl! And I believe there is a site that they use to live stream the event. I currently don’t have all that information, but if and when I find out, I will email the class to inform you of it! Thank you!

      Like

  2. Zelda Jägryd says:

    Thank you Victoria! Sometimes I doubt the world, when I heard people always being so concerned about money, success and winning. I am glad, that you are more focused on your own improvement and the result is just like the icing on the cake. That’s how I think it should be. We should be proud of ourselves for doing our best! I loved the post! AND Good Luck!!! 🙂 Dance Dance Dance!! I will be thinking about you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Marine Uyttenhove says:

    Good luck in your championship, I really hope you will reach the best position and go as far as you can in this competition. If you have the occasion to records yourself during the competition and your performance, you should really do it and post it on your blog so we can share your happiness with you. Good luck again, I’m sure you are gonna do amazing!! We are all supporting you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Amanda Gordon says:

    Good luck on your championship! I know you’re going to do an amazing job and I love how passionate you are about this! I love seeing people strive for success. Continue to do what you love and never stop 🙂 great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. drandreacampbell says:

    You will love Ireland. Be sure to bring some warm clothes. I had to wear a sweater there in July and you know how cold I keep the room! As for your blog message, I think it’s a really important one. The only thing I would add, is after working so hard for so long, when you get out there for the competition dance, forget all of that and just dance for the love of it!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Alyssa Sanchez says:

    OMG GOOD LUCK!!!! This is so awesome, and so great to see you evolve in your passion. I remember watching you in the Nativity Jamboree Talent Show haha. I love how passionately you speak about this and how hard you train, I understand. I used to go through rigorous rehearsals in my Drama club years, and the month leading up to the competition or show is known as “hell week”. I hope you make it through!!! Have fun girly!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

