Healthy Competition

This one goes out to everyone trying to incorporate better health choices into their regular routine. These past few months, just a little before New Year’s, I decided it was high time that I took my training for the World Championships seriously, if I even want a chance at being a good competitor. Many people at the beginning of the year decide to make a New Year’s Resolution. Many of those resolutions include eating healthier, exercising more, and getting more rest. These are just a few examples of the prime New Year’s Resolutions that are made every year. Now, the question is whether people actually stick to their goals or if those goals chosen become too difficult for most to handle.

Sadly, many people are unable to stick to their resolutions as they either were too difficult for a beginner or they come up with excuses of ” life got in the way”, “it’s too hard”, “I’m beautiful just the way I am”, etc. All these reasons are more than capable of being true, but they also shouldn’t be an excuse for you to quit. We all are more than able of bettering ourselves in something to a certain extent. I believe that no matter how skinny, fit, healthy or whatever the case may be that you are, you always can do something more to better yourself and improve yourself farther.

One fun and exciting way that I have found helps me keep myself motivated is by having a healthy competition. This doesn’t require anything expensive or buying extra equipment if you choose not to, but for the purposes of what I am trying to achieve in my life, I asked for and received a FitBit for Christmas. This tool allows me to see how many steps I take throughout my day, how well I’m sleeping, and also, compete with my friends who also have a FitBit!

This past weekend I was in Orlando, FL., for a dance competition, while one of my best friends Caro, was also in Orlando for another opportunity. During our trip, we both went to theme parks with those we were traveling with. We decided it would be a fun idea to challenge each other on our FitBit devices to a step challenge to see who would take the most steps throughout our trip. This not only was a motivation for both of us, but it was also so much fun! It was a way for us to workout together while not physically being together. It’s a new and innovative way that technology has entered our lives to assist us in becoming a more healthier and fit version of ourselves!

If you are struggling to get motivated or train harder at whatever sport you are doing, I suggest maybe getting together with a friend. When you have someone with you, you both are more likely to push each other to do your best and want to see who can do the better job of the two. This is a great form of encouragement as sometimes you may be on top, while others, your friend will be. This is also a great way to see where your weaknesses are and what it is you personally need to work on. You both can always ask each other for help and guidance while also spending time together.

So what are you waiting for?! Get up and get moving! Make every day of your life “One of those HEALTHY days!” Being healthy and fit isn’t a fad or trend, but a lifestyle.

5 thoughts on “Healthy Competition

  1. worldviewvibes says:

    Wonderful post once again! I totally agree with you on the fact that goals are easier to accomplish when you get your friends involved. That extra motivation can easily help you in the long run, and it can also benefit your friend too! That way, it’s a win-win situation. There are some New Year’s Resolutions that I had planned, and at first they were hard to follow. Once I got my friends and even my family involved, they pushed me to be the very best that I can be. I am glad that you and your friend challenged each while also having a good time!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. V says:

    Yes! It was a win-win situation for both of us! I am so happy to hear that your New Year’s Resolutions are going well. No matter what we choose to do in life, it won’t always be easy. With our friends an family by our side though, I believe that we are able to achieve the impossible!

    Like

  3. flygonian says:

    “they come up with excuses of ” life got in the way”, “it’s too hard”, “I’m beautiful just the way I am”, etc.”
    Argh. That one hit me right in the personal responsibility >.<
    I'm glad that you are playing up the competition end of your training. Healthy or otherwise, having somebody to compare results with will always serve as a great motivation factor that pushes you above and beyond. I fear that I am growing stagnant in my workplace because I don't have anyone to compete with.

    Liked by 1 person

    • V says:

      I know sometimes the remarks I wrote are hard to hear or see, but for some, they are nothing but the truth. It also can be very difficult to tell a person in that position or mindset that it is true and that they have so much potential. It becomes difficult because the person who is making the remarks, doesn’t always want to listen or hear the advice of others.
      Also, if you fear that you are becoming stagnant in your workplace because you have no competition, try and make it a competition within yourself. It may sound silly, but I have tried it and it does work! Make it a game; for example challenge yourself to finish a certain amount of work within a given time-frame that you know is manageable but still a little bit challenging. You could also give yourself a challenge of researching something on your own before asking another individual. You could even have yourself learn something new at least once a week if that’s what it takes to make yourself feel inspired and useful. Being stagnant in the workplace is a feeling that no one wants to have. Ask your boss or supervisor for more challenging tasks. See what amount or load you are able to carry on your shoulders without it being an overload. I feel this will help you in your current situation. Keep me updated on your decisions!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Marian Miller says:

    Guess whose been saying they need to go to the gym since the year started and still hasn’t been to the gym. I think I do need a companion to not only motivate me but also I them. When I start going to the gym, it becomes apart of my routine. It does take me about a week to really adapt to it when I first start. I will find a partner and hopefully stick to it through the year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

